Thursday, October 13, 2011

Czerwonka new Ice captain

Poster number one had it right as the Ice named Drew Czerwonka captain today.

Here's the release:

Cranbrook, BC – Jeff Chynoweth, General Manager of the Kootenay ICE Hockey Club, today announced the club has named 19-year-old Edmonton Oilers draft pick Drew Czerwonka as Captain of the 2011-2012 team.

Czerwonka becomes the 16th Captain in the history of the ICE franchise. (John Kachur – 1996-1997, Steve McCarthy – 1998-2000, Mike Green – 2000, Mike Comrie – 2000, Dean Arsene – 2000-2001, Jason Jaffray – 2001-2002, Jarret Stoll – 2001-2002, Colin Sinclair – 2002-2003, Nigel Dawes – 2003-2005, Adam Cracknell – 2005-2006, Ryan Russell – 2006-2007, Steve DaSilva 2007-2008, Andrew Bailey – 2008-2009, Dustin Sylvester – 2009-2010, Brayden McNabb - 2010-2011).

The Assistant Captains will be Max Reinhart, Joey Leach, Jesse Ismond and Joe Antilla.

“We feel Drew best exemplifies what type of player our organization is looking for in a Captain. There are many players in our club that are great leaders on and off the ice, but unfortunately only one can wear the 'C'. Drew is going into his fourth season with the club and understands the standard of excellence we strive to accomplish” added Chynoweth.

Next home action for the ICE is tomorrow night against Lethbridge and Saturday against Prince Albert both at 7:00 pm. Tickets for both games are available at the Kootenay ICE Office.

No comments: